A letter to my boys…


Dear Boys,

First and foremost, I want to say that I am blessed and honored to raise you guys from boyhood to manhood. Now I know you guys are still young; but one day you will become men…Once that process occurs you may ask yourself “what do I do” or “how will I do it”; me and your mom believe that we are doing an amazing job raising you guys…but no matter how great of a job we are doing; you guys will forget about 70% of our teachings…So, I am taking the initiative and writing this letter to you guys; words from a father…In this letter, I will mention 5 things that will guide & help you through life; this is your father’s advice in paper…

  1. Life is tricky – No matter who you are, where you stand, or how much money you have; life will always throw you curve balls to knock you off your game. My boys you have to promise me that no matter what life dishes your way; you will never “give up” or use the words “I can’t” (cowards don’t succeed)…Guys you are not cowards but strong, educated, respectful Latino men who shall never say never…remember when we saw Justin Bieber’s movie he never gave up; you shouldn’t either…
  2. You can’t blame no one but you – Boys when you commit a mistake it’s not the end of the world…just remember don’t point the finger to someone else; if it was your mistake. Blaming others will only create a world of denial…the best way to overcome that mistake; is to “own up” to it…Like my great philosopher and teacher Confucius said, “Learn as though you would never be able to master it; Hold it as though you would be in fear of losing it”…You won’t know the answer to every situation in your life; but the greatest “mistake” is blaming others…
  3. Be “you” – I have learned that there will be people who will not like you as you; they want a different person…boys don’t change “you” to satisfy the needs of that person. I don’t care who it is; don’t change “you”…I look at it this way, if God didn’t like “you”; he wouldn’t have given this world “you”…Guys not to confuse; there are going to be people who want to change “you” to what they picture…guys, don’t change “you” or allow anyone to change “you”…love “you” and thank God that you are “you”
  4. Love everyone – In this world there will be people who will not love you, or try to bring you down…no matter what happens; boys love everyone…You know it is love that overcomes all obstacles, that breaks all barriers, that mend broken hearts, that sees past the defects of others, or that heals wounds…boys; with love as a part of your life you will make it far and conquer every dream you dream…
  5. Never stop believing – Boys, the minute you stop believing in “yourself” is the minute that all hopes, dreams, or goals cease to exist…Never and I repeat never believe that you can’t be successful…because no matter how you define “success” in your life; you will only be successful if you believe in yourself…Believe that you can conquer the world, that  you can overcome every challenge, or that there is hope when hope appears to be gone; that my sons, is the recipe for success…

My boys, my little-men; you know that “dad” loves you guys more than life itself…You guys, mom, and your sister are the reason “why” I open my eyes each day, I get up from bed no matter how much pain I have, I never “give up”, or I will never stop fighting…Guys I am the most proudest father in the world, and I pray that I can be there every step of the way…Unfortunately, I am not immortal so there will be a day in the future when I no longer exist…When that happens, remember that “life” starts when you get out your comfort-zone, and it ends when you stop believing in yourself…

You guys are not going to agree with everything I say, sometimes you will get mad at me, hate me, or not believe me; it’s okay…Just remember that “dad” will always love you, be there for you, and give “you” words of comfort when you need them; and the day that “dad” is gone take this letter as a guide and share with your kids and grand-kids…

Love,

Daddy

5 thoughts on “A letter to my boys…

Share your thoughts...

