Don’t be a victim…


As a man, there is one thing I hate the most than my football team losing in the last quarter, doing the last play, 10 yards off the end-zone, down by 7; is going to the hospital…I would think that being in/out of the hospital my entire life; I would love it…Nope, I would do or say anything to avoid the hospital; but the hospital is not the enemy, even though they “enjoy” staying with pieces of my hair every time I visit them…(LOL) Enough about the hospital; you know that besides hating the hospital, I hate getting check-ups…correct me if I am wrong, but I believe that every man hates getting check-ups at the hospital…There is one check-up that can prevent you from getting the evil plague that doesn’t care if you have a family or not, are rich or poor, and if you are famous or not; that plague is known as colon cancer or in medical terms colorectal cancer…We have had many good men be a victim of this plague, not live their full life, or leave behind their family…

This cancer is unstoppable, but can be prevented if a screening is done…It was estimated that half of men 50+ in the USA were screened, and the percentage decreases drastically for male minority men (Hispanic, Black, Asian, etc.)

Now I understand I don’t want anyone sticking nothing up my rectum; and that’s the excuse of many men…however, this screening can save your life. Yes, woman can get colon cancer as well; but the difference is that there is a higher percentage of women that get screened than man…

Look, as I have mentioned we have lost grand-fathers, fathers, uncles, brothers to this plague that doesn’t care; a little time of discomfort can save or add years to your life…Men, if you don’t want to do the exam because of “stubbornness”; than do it for the “ones” you loved…cause when you are gone your family & friends have to deal with the after-effect…

The age you should do a screening varies, please click here to learn more. If you want to learn more about colorectal cancer, please click here.

Women encourage your father, brother, uncle, or grand-father to get a screening if they haven’t; it can save their life…the worst thing than the Yankees losing the World Series; is losing someone to colon cancer because they didn’t want to get screened…Men stop being stubborn and live 50 more years; a little discomfort can prevent you from being another victim…

2 thoughts on “Don’t be a victim…

  1. Great call to action. I lost an aunt to colon cancer this year, I hate that monster. If it’s preventable through testing, I suggest every man should MAN UP! and get that test.

Share your thoughts...

