Part IV: Recovery


One thing that I think we can all agree on is the “recovery period” whether it is a surgery, child-birth, or a major event such as a stroke or heart attack it sucks…

Before I start talking about my recovery…let me tell you what this second stroke affected; since the stroke was a Cerebellum Stroke my coordination and movement was affected: meaning my speech, walking, and right side…

Now let’s get talking about the recovery…

Speech – As the time goes on, my speech gets clear; in the beginning months after my stroke I spoke like a drunken sailor…My family and clients can better understand me now than before…Anyone that has met me knows that I love to speak; after the stroke, my talking has reduced and  I probably will never get to talk the way I did before the stroke…

Walking – Before the stroke, I was able to walk fast or run efficiently; now I can’t run, and I have to be careful not to fall when I walk fast…I have to walk with a cane at all times; and hold on to rails when I go up the stairs…

Right Side – My right side has recovered except my right-hand; that sucks since I am a “rightie”…I can’t write; and I am teaching my left hand to do what my right hand did…

This stroke has affected me physically; however, it has also affected me psychologically…It took me awhile to realize that my deformities don’t make me, this stroke was not my fault (it was bound to happen), and I am still “me”; just different…

The only “positive” outcome of this stroke was that the “censorship” is gone…Meaning before the stroke, I “sugar-coated” the truth; now I don’t “sugar-coat”it anymore…You see I have learned that people want the truth; however they don’t want to hear it cause it hurts…So, what happens that we tend to “sugar-coat” the truth so it wont hurt that much; my friends how will that person know how you feel, if you don’t tell them what you really want to say…

This stroke has taken a huge toll on the family & friends; it is a chaotic event that I won’t wish on my worse enemy…My friends I had two choices; (1) I could have given up, thrown in the towel, and let this stroke kick my butt & take control of my life, or (2) I could confront the stroke, face it, defeat it, and win the war…I have chosen option 2; cause it is not the obstacle that defines your character, it is what you do that defines your character…I may have lost a battle; however I have not lost the war…

Life can throw curve, cutter, split-finger or fast balls your way; cowards don’t hit home runs…Are you a coward or not?? When everything is set and done, only “you” hold your future in your hands; what are you going to do?? Are you going to conform to what life dishes out; or, are you going to challenge life and become successful??

One thought on “Part IV: Recovery

  1. I feel that is one of the so much important information for me. And i am satisfied studying your article. However wanna observation on few general things, The website taste is wonderful, the articles is actually great :D. Good process, cheers.

Share your thoughts...

