Strong Latino men…


Throughout history there has been strong Latino men…for example in the music industry we have Marc Anthony, Aventura, or Don Omar…in the movie industry we have John Leguizamo, Desi Arnaz, or Andy Garcia…or in the sports industry we have Alex Rodriguez, Oscar De La Hoya, or Juan Pablo Montoya…all these icons have made an imprint in our history…we also have famous strong Latino doctors, lawyers, politicians, or computer technicians…

As strong as these iconic figures are, I didn’t write this post to commemorate their success…I want to talk about 2 strong Latino men, you won’t find in the T.V., newspaper, or magazine; they are not famous, are not celebrities, or even rich (when it comes to money)

These 2 strong Latino men have a story that I would like to share; they play an important role in my success, and they are 2 individuals I admired; these 2 individuals are my father and my older brother…

My father has been through a lot in life…from losing his sons, drug addiction, coming face-to-face with death, and the list keeps going on and on…however, is not the bad things he did in his life…it is what he did when faced with these obstacles that defined his character…he fought when “hope” was not an option to be where he is now…He has taught me that you “don’t give up” just because life throws you curve balls…you fight until you can fight no more…he fought, and fought; and even though he may not be in all his kids life, even though it may get tight paying the bills at the beginning of the month…I can say proudly that my dad has been 10+ years clean, he owns his own home, he is a manager, he gave his sons two beautiful sisters, and 4 more wonderful additions to our life (my step-mother and her kids)…he teaches me and everyone each day that there is “hope”, that there is a light at the end of the tunnel; all you have to do is keep fighting…I love you dad and “thank you”

My brother felt the pain of divorce, of having a step-father, of being neglected and thrown away like trash; like I was…however, no matter what happened in his life, or no matter who tried to destroy his spirit…just like my dad he fought and never “gave up”…now because of that fighting spirit he will be graduating this Saturday with his Associate, and starting on his Bachelor’s + Master this fall…he didn’t “quit” no matter how hard life got, he didn’t “quit” when everything went wrong, he didn’t “quit” when he was tired of fighting…he continue, and continue…and that’s why he is where he is now…My friends, “success is not for the faint of heart” ~Unknown…

For your dedication, and willingness to continue fighting no matter what came your way…I want to say “thank you” brother, because you have shown me that life is tough…you can “quit” and throw in the towel; or you can fight, lose the battle, continue fighting and not “quit” until the war is won…my dear brother you fought everyday…and this is the beginning of your new chapter, there will be tough storms ahead…but continue fighting like you have, continue fighting like all the Strong Latino men have fought, continue fighting like our dad has and still fights…

These 2 Strong Latino men may not be famous, celebrities, or even stars…however, they have impacted and taught everyone in our family, and even individuals outside of our family…that if you don’t “give up”, you will and can accomplish all your dreams…

NEXT TUESDAY I WILL TALK ABOUT MY SECOND STROKE…Don’t Miss It!!!

One thought on “Strong Latino men…

Share your thoughts...

