Am I really important?


On April 20th, 2011, I saw “Criminal Minds Suspect Behavior”; in the episode there was a black & white girl kidnapped. What hurts the most…is that the white girl was getting a lot of media…cause she came from the suburbs…the black girl, who came from the “ghetto” was getting no media…they searched for her 9 days ago and that’s it…

Now some can argue that because of the color of her skin; the black girl received no attention…I am not here to argue about her color…I am here to argue about her status…In one hand you have the “have”…in another hand you have “the have not”. A lot of us come from the “have not” category; we work our “ass” out day in and day out…everything we have we worked hard for…I am not saying that the “have” never worked hard; some did and some got everything handed to…which is okay…if we were treated equal.

In the Declaration of Independence it states, “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator…”, read more. So why do we have two categories that we go into? Why do office men/women, politicians, society and so on distinguish between the rich and poor? Is not about your color (even though it plays a big role)…it’s about having money or not…If you look at O.J. Simpson’s first trial…everyone knew he was guilty…but because he had money and was able to afford the late Johnnie Cochran he was acquitted…

Now I am not mad at a person…if they had nothing and now has everything…I am mad when the person believes that because he/she has everything that they are untouchable. I believe that we all have a goal in mind…to work hard for a piece of that “American Dream”… Now, why is it that because I don’t have all the money…I can’t be treated equal? Am I really important?

Do I have to be rich for someone to care about me, about what I say, or about what I do…Does money really talks? I am not that old…but I still can recall that society distinguish between the “have” and “have not”when is this going to stop? When will all men / women no matter how much money they have, no matter what color they are, no matter what is their status, no matter what…they will be treated equal…

I ask again…Am I really important?

Share your thoughts...

